Skip to content

My 87 Cent Uber Ride

April 6, 2016

imgres-2

Yes, it is possible to get an Uber ride for almost free, as I found out last week when I attended the Erma Bombeck Writers Workshop in beautiful, cosmopolitan Dayton, OH and it’s so easy to get, it’s not even funny. It may be a one-time deal, but it’s good in any town with Uber, not just Seattle.

First, a bit of background. As I mentioned, I attended a conference in Dayton last week and wasn’t sure how I was going to get from the airport to my hotel. There were no shuttles and the cabs weren’t exactly cheap. Shuttle services started around $38, if you reserved a day in advance and lord knows what a taxi would have cost if I had just hailed one when I got there. I had heard that Uber was around $16-$22, so I downloaded the free App before I left.

So far, so good.

Then, I heard about the discount code. All I had to do was enter FIRSTRIDE18 when I booked the ride and it meant that I would get $18 off my first ride. I’m so glad it was that easy because, quite frankly, I needed the ride after getting off a red-eye flight from Seattle and I wasn’t in the mood for anything complicated. The driver arrived in less than 10 minutes and I was at my hotel in less than an hour.

As it turns out, the ride would have cost $18.87, but since I had the discount code, it only cost 87 cents.

Not too shabby.

There’s another way for both of us to get a free ride, by the way. If you sign up for Uber using my invite code — davidv8113ue — and then book an Uber ride, you’ll get a ride worth up to $20 free and I will, too.

Is this a great country or what?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

