Skip to content

Why I Do What I Do

June 29, 2015

photo“Our family of 8 went [to Red Robin] tonight (two tables of 4) and it was fantastic! Thank you SO much for sharing this with us!!!! We can’t afford to go out very often so this was a huge blessing!”

–Reader Donna, on the Cheap Bastard Facebook page.

 No, no, thank you Donna, for your kind words.

I received this comment on my Facebook page yesterday and I treasure it. It’s one of the nicest things anyone has ever said about The Cheap Bastard’s Guide to Seattle. It also helps summarize why I do what I do. Sure, the book’s title is “The Cheap Bastard’s Guide to Seattle–Secrets of Living the Good Life–For Less,” but I don’t just do it for people who have good jobs and are looking to save a little bit of money. I do it for people who don’t have much money at all, but still want to have fun in and around this very expensive city. That might mean free events for kids, free medical treatment for adults who can’t afford to see a doctor or even a free ice cream cone or cup of yogurt for people who might otherwise not be able to afford it because their budgets are just too tight. Or even, in this case, a free dinner at Red Robin.

Truth be told, I get a kick out of saving money and I get an even bigger kick out of being your tour guide into the wonderful world of savings. I love pointing out the stuff you may have missed and I enjoy doing it with humor.

And I have done all this without asking for anything in return…except for the occasional sale of a book. I don’t get paid by the companies I mention, I don’t take advertising (although that could change) and I generally won’t list a deal from a company I don’t like (I’m talking to you, Walmart and Papa John’s).

After five years of doing this, I now have a few small favors to ask. My first request is a simple one. If you like what you read on my blog, please pass the word along and tell all your friends about it. So they can enjoy it and I can help them, too. My hope is that they’ll like it so much they’ll mention it to other friends.

The second takes only slightly more effort and it is simply this. If you enjoy my writing style, please tell your friends about me. I make my living as a professional writer and would love to get more loyal readers. Even more important, though, I’d really appreciate it if you could pass my name around when you hear about people looking for someone for a writing job. My specialties are travel, business, food, consumer affairs and parenting, but I’ve written just about everything. I have a passion for telling stories and I know when a serious approach is called for and when humor is the only way to tell the tale.

I do copy writing, content, trade publication work, public relations and have even written a speech or two in my time. If I could have any job, I’d be a syndicated humor columnist writing a column about oddball, off-the-beaten path travel and the joy of being an older parent to two adopted children, but for now I’ll just be happy with steady, better-paying writing gigs.

If you like my writing and want to see more, check out my website. and some of my writing samples. (You can find even more clips here.) And if you want to hire me, you can e-mail me at david at davidvolk.com. My rates are reasonable, I’m good and I know how to meet a deadline.

I have to admit, this isn’t really where I planned on going when I sat down to write this post, but sometimes you just have to go with your gut.

Regardless, now you know why I do what I do.

Thanks so much for joining me on this journey.

And now, back to the deals.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Buffy Sato permalink
    June 30, 2015 10:25 am

    Thank you so much. I always look forward to your posts and pass them on whenever I can.

  2. June 30, 2015 3:20 pm

    I have known you for years and this is the best insight you’ve ever given me into you.David, you’re a mensch!

Leave a Reply

