Skip to content

How About Some Extra Cheese With That Pizza?

June 8, 2014

photoOne of the joys of living the cheap bastard way is that you never know what you’ll find around the corner when you’re out cashing in on a bargain.

Take this past week.

As we often do, my kids and I were headed into Whole Foods to take advantage of the store’s Tuesday night Buy One pizza, Get One Free deal when I rounded the corner and was stunned to run into this relic from the 1980s.

That’s right. Former male supermodel Fabio was at the Roosevelt Square Whole Foods. At first, I thought he was flogging his own brand of beer. As it turns out, he was selling his own brand of whey protein which comes complete with his face on the bottle although, curiously, there is not a heaving blonde, brunette or redhead at his side. Apparently, it’s not so easy to get members of the opposite sex all hot and bothered over whey protein.

Unknown-2While his appearance was amusing and led me to call my wife (who wanted me to get a picture with him), it was also a bit awkward because it put me in the odd position of having to explain Fabio to my kids. They really aren’t all that familiar with the supermodel concept and even if they had been, they didn’t seem to understand that there were men who fit that description. Also, they really didn’t understand what he did for a living or why he was a celebrity.

In the end, I concluded my explanation to my daughter by saying “Well, he’s famous…”

“For being famous?” said my 7 year-old who often ends up being much more astute than I give her credit for being…even though I consider her fairly astute.

On the plus side, my kids were nowhere near as clueless as the 20-something girl who was standing in line behind us just so we could talk to her friend.

Upon learning what Fabio was famous for, she said, “Whew. That’s good. I thought he was a drug dealer or something.”

You’ll notice there’s no picture of us with Fabio. That’s because Fabio’s quite a talker. He spent at least 20 minutes talking to a woman at the head of the line and an additional 10 with the next person in line. And we were about five people back, so we didn’t have a chance.

I understand being excited to have your face on the bottle of any product, but I’m hard pressed to figure out how anyone could wax rhapsodic over whey protein for more than, say, 2 or 3 minutes per person.

Oh well.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shirley A permalink
    June 8, 2014 5:54 am

    I guess u could say the line to talk to Fabio was whey way long

Leave a Reply

