Skip to content

The Year of Savings Starts Now

January 2, 2014

cheapbastardsseattle3Yes, the Cheap Bastard knows. Now that the holidays are over and the frenzy of shopping has come to an end, you’ve not only discovered that you spent more than you expected, you also opened your wallet and found nothing but dust this morning when you steered into the Starbucks parking lot for your morning mocha. You’ve already resolved to spend less, but now you’re worried that will mean staying at home doing nothing because you simply can’t afford to do anything else.

Fortunately, the Cheap Bastard is here to help.

Of course, my book “The Cheap Bastard’s Guide to Seattle” is one of the top resources out there for people looking to save on almost everything they do in the Emerald City, but this year I’ve resolved to take it a step further.

Instead of just listing deals on low priced lattes, fast food freebies and other daily deals as I have the last three years, I’m going to spend more time listing free and low-priced happenings that will allow you to stay on budget without having to stay in. That might mean a lecture at the library, a free cooking class, an aura reading workshop or something just for families and kids, but my goal is to post something every day.

In fact, if all works as planned, I hope to list a national deal, a local deal and at least one low cost event by 11 every day. If there aren’t any great deals or events, I’ll post a money-saving tip instead. And, if there’s a barn burner of a deal that pops up later in the day, I’ll post it on my facebook page (because there are times when WordPress just takes too damn long)….

And I hope to do it all by 11 a.m. every weekday. If I can’t find anything in the early part of the day, I’ll make sure to have a post by 9 p.m. And if time permits, I might even do a humor post that I hope will either amuse you or make you laugh out loud.

Given that this is a new year’s resolution, there may be times when I fall down on the job. I might miss a deadline or two. And if I find it’s not workable, I’ll let you know that, too.

Finally, I also resolve to help you by making more appearances around town so you can come up to me and ask the questions that you were afraid to ask in the comments section or just buy a book. Although The Re Store, Elliott Bay Book Company, the University Bookstore, Barnes & Noble, the Couth Buzzard and other local bookstores stock it, I also have my own supply and I’d be happy to sell you a copy and sign it. Heck, if you’re a member of a civic club, church group or some other organization that needs a speaker, I’ll be happy to do a speech. Just drop me a line. If there’s enough interest, I’m even willing to start a Meetup group that does regular gatherings.

Or you can see me at an upcoming reading like the one I’m doing at 7 pm next Tuesday (that’s January 7th) at Wide World Travel Store in Wallingford (4411 Wallingford Ave. N).

I look forward to seeing you and helping you save money in 2014.

In the mean time, here are today’s deals:

Local–
COME UP TO THE LAB…FOR A CHEAP BURGERLunchbox Laboratory may not be the cheapest restaurant out there, but it has a deal this month where you can buy one burger and get a second for $5 from 3 p.m. to closing time. Not bad, considering that most burgers start at $10.99.

National–
GO SMALL AT JAMBA FOR $2–The source for smoothies has a coupon deal where you can get a Small Fit ‘n’ Fruitful or Whole Food Nutrition Smoothie for $2. The deal is good from January 3-7. Thanks to Hip2Save.

Cool Events–

REI SCHOOLS YOU ON THE SLOPES–The Seattle REI store offers a Skiing/snowboarding Basics class tonight at 7 p.m. The class is free, but an RSVP is recommended.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lox permalink
    January 3, 2014 6:28 am

    Love it, Cheap Bastard. Cheers to 2014!

  2. naomi henryson permalink
    January 3, 2014 10:36 pm

    But I like to drink my coffee not smel it. Naomi

Leave a Reply

