Skip to content

Why the Cheap Bastard Doesn’t List Black Friday Deals

November 27, 2013

no black friday_thumb[1]Although the CB considers himself a liberal, this isn’t going to be a post decrying the horrors of working on Thanksgiving. In fact, I come at it from a completely different direction because my parents owned a small pharmacy in North Fort Myers, Florida that stayed open on Thanksgiving and Christmas. I enjoyed working those short days not only because it was fun and we kids had the run of the store, but also because we understood we were providing a service to people who unexpectedly needed medicine or diapers on a day when other stores were closed.

Of course, I admit I’m not really sure what pressing service having JC Penney or some other retailer open on Thanksgiving Day actually provides, but if they want to do that, it’s up to them. If there’s a really great deal, I might show up or I might not.

No, the real reason is that it isn’t what the Cheap Bastard Blog is about. This blog is all about showing you how to do things that you would do anyway–but for less. That means seeing plays, movies and concerts for free or cheap and getting great deals on things you can do around town. Sure, I do list sales from time to time, but they are usually ones that are specific to Seattle like a clearance at REI, the semi-annual Glass Baby Sale and that sort of thing or really great deals that you might not have heard about somewhere else…like the Seattle International Film Festival’s holiday deal on tickets and passes.

There are other reasons that I don’t list the big sales, of course. They include:

1. I don’t have the time.

2. I’m too lazy. Okay, maybe not lazy, but as a stay-at-home dad and a full time freelance writer, I still need to find a way to feed the kids, get them to school, market my freelance writing services and meet story deadlines all while doing this…for free.

3. I don’t get paid. I’m not saying I’m against accepting ads and doing affiliate relationships as other bloggers do, but my main mission continues to be supporting my book “The Cheap Bastard’s Guide to Seattle” so I don’t always hear about or list the same things that other bargain bloggers do.

4. I don’t have the patience for it. After a while, entering all those prices becomes more like data entry than blogging.

5. Others do it better. I’m not kidding. If you want to know about Black Friday deals, I mean really find out about what’s on sale in Seattle, here are the places you should go: Thrifty NW Mom, Queen Bee Couponing, The Coupon Project as well as Hip 2 Save and the Krazy Coupon Lady.

After all that are you still here? Cool. Thanks for sticking around for the final reason:

The last reason.

6. My job is to tell you what cool stuff to do after you’re done shopping and don’t have any money left.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 27, 2013 1:47 pm

    Thanks for the mention 🙂 and good for you for keeping it simple this time of the year. Its a nice break from the deal madness!

Leave a Reply

