Skip to content

New Feature: Dumb Stuff I Learned Along the Way

June 11, 2012

The Cheap Bastard’s wife is out of town for 16 days (today, it’s day 9 of the hostage crisis in Upper Volkistan. We’re not sure who is being held hostage: them or me). Although he is a stay-at-home dad and already spends a lot of time with his kids, he’s learned a lot over the last week and will begin sharing some of the important lessons he’s learned on an occasional basis.

Once his wife returns home, he’ll probably keep the feature going. He might just rename it to focus on odd things he’s learned while researching stories. Like the fact that he learned that Top Pot Doughnuts had their donut machines custom made. But that’s a story for another day.

Having said all that, here’s today’s lesson.

The brown pancake on the kid’s menu at IHOP is not a whole wheat pancake and all of the wishing in the world won’t make it so.

I only mention this because I was coming back from the Everett Children’s Imagine Museum with my kids last Thursday, bed time was approaching quickly and they hadn’t eaten yet Luckily, I remembered that the Aurora IHOP had a Kids Eat Free special on Thursday nights. So, I pulled off of the traffic disaster that was I-5 and went in search of a bargain. We were all pretty tired and there wasn’t a lot on the menu for them to eat because most of the menu items had bacon, sausage or some sort of meat that they couldn’t eat. Consequently, I was so thrilled when my daughter (who does not read yet) chose the brown Funny Face pancake that I didn’t bother to read the description. Since it was a brown pancake I just naturally assumed that it was a whole wheat pancake and patted myself on the back for raising a daughter that makes healthy choices.

If only I’d looked at the description, I would have noticed it was a CHOCOLATE CHIP pancake.

Normally, this isn’t a problem, but when I’m less than an hour away from bedtime, the last thing I want to do is serve my daughter the concentrated sugary goodness of chocolate chips AND the restaurant’s four varieties of syrup.

My kid’s regular bed time: 7:30

Thursday night’s in bed, lights out time: 8:30.

Yeesh.

Savings to Date (with 2 kids meals around $10): $8393.71

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

